2 Easy, Tasty, Healthy Smoothie Recipes

Why does the word “smoothie” end in –ie and not –y? ANYWAYS, I’ve been making smoothies a lot this week and decided that I wanted to share my favourite smoothie recipes with you guys. I’d consider them to be pretty healthy concoctions and they’re definitely my go-to’s.

So here they are, my top two favourite smoothie recipes! Each recipe will make enough smoothie for 1 large glass.

  1. Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1 handful of kale
  • Silk Dark Chocolate Almond Milk
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 tbsp peanut butter
  • The amount of chocolate almond milk and peanut butter you put in really depends on which flavour you’d like to taste more of
  1. Banana Strawberry Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 1 1/2 handful of strawberries
  • 1 handful of kale
  • Lactose-free skim milk
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • Sometimes I use peach juice or orange juice instead of milk

Blend it up, store it in a cup, and take it to go!

Right now, I’m using Manitoba Harvest Hemp Hearts purchased from the grocery store, and chia seeds purchased from Bulk Barn. Also, you can substitute the liquid bases for any type of milk, juice, or water – it all depends on the taste you would like to achieve. I didn’t put a measurement to the liquids just because I usually just eyeball it and it depends how thick you’d like your smoothie to be.

I personally love seeing what other people put in their smoothies. Sure, a strawberry banana smoothie is a strawberry banana smoothie, but one different ingredient added to the blender can change the game, man. Let me know what your favourite smoothies are!

Happy Blending!

Leave a Reply

