My Go-to, At-home Dumbbell Arm Workout

Whether I’m performing a Full Body Workout or it’s Arm Day, I like to incorporate these five arm exercises into my routine. I’m no fitness expert and nor do I have a bachelor’s degree in anything related to fitness, but I like to consider myself an active individual who has learned all of my exercises from people who are qualified and from fitness classes I participated in in the past.

For these exercises, be sure to choose your dumbbells wisely. I usually choose two sizes (5 lb and 10 lb) and I like to switch them up depending on the exercise (I let you know below the weight I use for each exercise). I recommend choosing two that won’t be too strenuous on your arms mid-workout – two that you will be able to comfortably use for a few sets, but will still challenge your arms! I found some photos on Google that may help with how to perform each movement!

BICEP CURLS: 15 reps each arm, each set

  • 5 lb dumbbells
  • try to keep your upper body as still as possible when raising and lowering your forearms – you don’t want to be rocking forward and back during the curls

bicep curl.jpg

TRICEP CURLS: 15 reps each arm, each set

  • 5 lb dumbbells
  • pretend your upper arms are glued to the side of your body, only move your forearms
  • I usually do one arm at a time, and rest the other elbow on my knee

tricep curl.jpg

OVERHEAD EXTENSIONS: 15 reps each set

  • 10 lb dumbbell
  • keep your knees slightly bent and your feet shoulder width apart – this will help with balance

overhead extension.jpg

FRONT AND SIDE LATERAL ARM RAISES: 5 reps front and 5 reps side (alternating) each set

  • 5 lb dumbbells
  • always keep your arms slightly bent to prevent straining
  • I also like to raise my arms in the middle of my front and side. if you choose to do this too, do 5 reps each set as well

lateral raises.jpg

DUMBBELL BENCH PRESS: 15 reps each set

  • 5 lb dumbbells
  • if you’re at home and you don’t have a bench, find some boxes/containers or a coffee table you could lie down on

bench press.png

Depending on how you’re feeling at the end of the first set, I recommend doing another! And another! Surprise yourself! I like to do 2 sets if I’m doing a Full Body Workout, or 3 or more sets if I’m just focusing on my arms.

Here’s a few more general tips:

  • if you’re at home and don’t have any dumbbells, use cans or vases instead
  • all of these exercises can be done while sitting down
  • if standing, stand shoulder width apart for balance
  • when standing, be sure to keep your knees slightly bent for better balance
  • keeping your knees and elbows slightly bent for each exercise will prevent locking of the joints and injury
  • have fun with it!!!

Do you guys have any more tips? Or recommend any other exercises for the arms? Or have any good links I can refer to? Let me know! I’m always up for trying new things!

Stay active, my friends!

Leave a Reply

